2016 World Championship: Group Stage Teams


2016 World Championship: Group Stage Teams

12th Sep 2016

With regional play over and the League of Legends World Championship Group Stage determined, all attention will now focus on international competition. Some of the best League of Legends teams the world has to offer will arrive in the United States within the next three weeks to embark on their journey for glory.

Before we go any further, let’s quickly explain how the teams got here and what the Group Draw Show actually was this past weekend.

The 16 qualifying teams were placed into three different pools based on their performance from this past season in their respective regions. The top four qualifying regions from the 2016 Mid-Season Invitational (LCK, NA LCS, LPL, and the LMS) will each receive one spot in Pool 1.

The four teams in Pool 1 are the winners from each region’s Summer Split Playoffs. Those four teams are the Rox Tigers (LCK), Team SoloMid (NA LCS), Flash Wolves (LMS), and Edward Gaming (LPL).

Pool 2 will be comprised of eight teams. This pool will include the winner from the EU LCS (G2 eSports) as well as seven other teams (second place finishers in the major regions and the remaining teams from China/Korea).

Our final pool, Pool 3, will include the remaining four qualifying teams. Those teams are the third place LCS teams (Cloud9 and Splyce) and both IWC qualifiers (Albus Nox Luna and INTZ e-Sports)

Each group will have one team from Pool 1, two teams from Pool 2, and one team from Pool 3. Teams for each group are determined by a lottery system. No group can have more than one team from any single region (i.e. if TSM is in group A, and CLG were to also be drawn into group A, CLG would be moved to the next available group).

The group stage will be a double round robin, with each team facing off against the three other teams in their group twice. The top two teams from each group will advance to the Knockout Stage.

Group stage action will start on Thursday, September 29th. Below are the teams and which group they’ve drawn into. Below is an exact breakdown of each group.

Group A:
Rox Tigers (LCK)
G2 Esports (EU LCS)
Counter Logic Gaming (NA LCS)
Albus Nox Luna (CIS)

Group B:
Flash Wolves (LMS)
SK Telecom T1 (LCK)
Team I May (LPL)
Cloud9 (NA LCS)

Group C:
Edward Gaming (LPL)
AHQ e-Sports Club (LMS)
H2k Gaming (EU LCS)
INTZ e-Sports (CBLoL)

Group D:
Royal Never Give Up (LPL)
Samsung Galaxy (LCK)
Splyce (EU LCS)

As we lead up to the end of September and the start of the 2016 League of Legends World Championship Group Stage, stay tuned to for extensive coverage. We’ll have in depth analysis of each group and extensive coverage of the event.

The post 2016 World Championship: Group Stage Teams appeared first on LPL.